FAQ

Since the year 2000, professional, community and concerned citizen groups have advocated for a more liveable Central Business District through the pedestrianisation of Des Voeux Road Central.

Through the years, more than HK$10m has been spent on research, trials, community engagement and education in an effort to change Hong Kong’s current urban planning model so that our city values people over cars.

In 2017, Walk DVRC Ltd. was formally formed as an NGO to promote walkability and a less-polluted, more inclusive city through placemaking activities. Walk DVRC makes presentations, conducts workshops and charrettes, organizes events and holds competitions to inform, collaborate and partner with the public. The goal of these engagements is to showcase the real benefits of pedestrianized and connected streets.

A walkable city provides favorable conditions that promote socio-economic growth and development and enhance the quality of life and wellbeing of citizens. Walkable cities not only contribute to health and wellbeing, they also attract talent and investment.

Pedestrianisation schemes that focus on improving connectivity and facilitating social activities encourage governments to be bold and implement wider walkability schemes that could help join up the areas and stimulate urban revitalisation.

DVRC was once the waterfront where dried seafood vendors, chop makers, traditional costumes and general Chinese entrepreneurship was evident. Now it is impossible to find and appreciate these cultural landmarks because DVRC is a place to pass through, not a destination. The city’s Central district has not received any major investment in the past 20 years and the upgrading of the physical environment and public facilities is now crucial.

Here are the major problems that DVRC currently facing:

  1. Compare the statistics of DVRC, Connaught Road Central (CRC) and Queen's Road Central (QRC). The air pollution of CRC and QRC is near 4,000 µg/m3 while DVRC is over 5,000 µg/m3, the most polluted road on the north shore of Hong Kong Island
  2. Traffic speed in Central is extremely slow. Vehicle speed is 10km per hour vs. a human speed of 5km per hour vs. tram speed of 8km per hour.
  3. The pedestrian space has now been marginalized around DVRC. Sidewalks have narrowed to make space for private cars, taxis and buses.
  4. No trees for shade. No public seating. No access to free drinking water. Public amenities are not easily accessible.
  5. Directional signage is confusing. Infrequent road crossings lead to jaywalking. People on foot must fight for space, which has become dangerous for the elderly and children.
  6. Unfriendly building facades dwarf walkers and pollution from vehicular emissions abounds.

The trial closure of a small section of DVRC in 2016 demonstrated that it was possible to make DVRC a pedestrian and tram precinct. Know more: http://www.walkdvrc.hk/en/events/very-dvrc-walk-our-imaginations

A strong policy focus on walkability set out in the 2017-18 Policy Address, has made Walk DVRC not only a viable project, but also a highly favourable project for an efficient and people-friendly street environment in the CBD.

"Walk in HK" is an initiative that the Transport Department has commenced to formulate planning and design standards based on pedestrian-first principles for developing Hong Kong into a walkable city. Central and Sham Shui Po are the two sites identified as study areas.

Furthermore, Hong Kong 2030+ also provides a strong policy basis to be creative and innovative in promoting physical and functional integration within the Central and Western Districts and Central Business District 1 (CBD1) by enhancing walkability, connectivity, accessibility, permeability and cyclability. DVRC is an ideal location to pilot walkability improvement schemes to revive the deteriorating CBD1.

「行德」將會階段性推行可行的方案,在德輔道中實行行人優先道路,提供行人友好街道。

《上環樂》
世界其他地方曾進行地方營造試行計劃,以提高當地的可步行性,《上環樂》正是「行德」在香港推行的計劃。將德輔道中由摩利臣街至禧利街路段禁止車輛行駛,於90日內實行行人優先道路。了解更多:http://www.walkdvrc.hk/tc/news/sheung-wan-retailers-show-strong-support-for-a-fiesta-to-showcase-historic-trade

行德國際設計比賽
「行德」於2018年4月展開國際設計比賽,招募全球城市規劃師、建築師及設計師等專業團隊,為中環核心商業區由畢打街至西港城,長達1.4公里的德輔道中活化及重新塑造,設計成具標誌性的世界級公共空間。了解更多://walkdvrc.hk/design-competition/

You may start to integrate walking into your daily routine.

  • Walk more than you need e.g. get off one stop earlier to walk
  • Walk further than you normally do for daily activities
  • Walk to your meetings instead of taking public transport or driving
  • Have walking meetings – efficient, stimulates creativity and more refreshing than boardroom meetings

From time to time, Walk DVRC needs help from the community in the form of interns or volunteers. You may be one of our volunteers at an event or a participant in our market research to voice out your opinion.

常問問題

因此,由2000年起,有不同的專業人士、社區及關注小組提倡在德輔道中設立行人專用區,令香港的商業區更宜居。

超過1000萬港元已投資在各項研究、公眾以及人才參與,推動改變香港現時的城市規劃,由以車為本轉變成以人為本。

非政府機構「行德」有限公司於2017年正式成立,透過不同的地方營造活動,推廣好行、低污染及有特色的城市。「行德」不時舉辦活動、工作坊、設計比賽以及研討會等,提高人們對改善道路環境的意識和推動公民參與。借這些活動希望帶出將車輛優先的道路變得行人友好的真正好處。

一個好行的城市可以提供有利的條件促進社會經濟增長和提升市民的生活質素。除此之外,更可以可以吸引各地人才及投資。

行人專用區計劃可以改善各地區之間的連接性,同時提供公共社交場所給大眾使用。政府推行提高可步行性的計劃,將可幫助連繫不同地區,促進城市活化。

德輔道中以往靠近海旁,傳統海味乾貨店、補鞋店及圖章工藝店林立,是香港早期華人營商的重地。但現時這些文化漸漸被埋沒,德輔道中變成了人來人往的繁忙街道,而非一個讓人停留的地方。加上附近區域在過去20年已經沒有進行過翻新,公共設施及環境變得殘舊破爛。

以下是德輔道中現時面對的問題:

  1. 在德輔道中、干諾道中及皇后大道中這三條主要道路中,干諾道中及皇后大道中的空氣污染指數約4,000 µg/m3、德輔道中最為嚴重錄得超過5,000 µg/m3。
  2. 現時中環的行車速度極其緩慢,車輛速度只有每小時10公里,行人步速每小時5公里,電車則只有每小時8公里。
  3. 現時道路大部份分配給私家車、的士及巴士,行人通道十分狹窄。 而狹窄的空間令爭路行的現象出現。
  4. 德輔道中缺乏很多公共設施如飲水機、休息空間,沒有大樹或任何遮蔭設施。
  5. 街道的指示牌混亂。加上行人過路處不足,路面上經常出現亂過馬路的情況,對長者及小童造成危險。
  6. 兩邊的高樓加上車輛造成的路邊污染,令環境焗促,加劇空氣污染。

在2016年,其中一段德輔道中曾試行封路計劃。計劃的成功展示令德輔道中成為行人電車專用區的可行性。了解更多:http://www.walkdvrc.hk/tc/events/very-dvrc-walk-our-imaginations

2017-18年的施政報告中已經提出一系列措施提高香港的可步行性,藉此令「行德」的計劃更有效地令香港商業區的街道變得更行人友善。

為配合政府推動「香港好.易行」,運輸署展開「提升香港易行度顧問研究」,以行人優先的概念,制定各項規劃設計標準,使香港成為「易行城市」。其中,中環及深水埗被定為這項計劃的試行地點。

另外,在2007年公布的《香港2030:規劃遠景與策略》中亦提及未來將重塑中西區及商業核心區1 (CBD1)的硬件及其功能,並加以融合提高地區的可步行性、連接性、可達性、通透度以及便利單車使用者。而德輔道中作為連接商業核心區1的主要道路,是實施相關策略措施改善現況的理想地點。

「行德」將會階段性推行可行的方案,在德輔道中實行行人優先道路,提供行人友好街道。

《上環樂》
世界其他地方曾進行地方營造試行計劃,以提高當地的可步行性,《上環樂》正是「行德」在香港推行的計劃。將德輔道中由摩利臣街至禧利街路段禁止車輛行駛,於90日內實行行人優先道路。了解更多:http://www.walkdvrc.hk/tc/news/sheung-wan-retailers-show-strong-support-for-a-fiesta-to-showcase-historic-trade

行德國際設計比賽
「行德」於2018年4月展開國際設計比賽,招募全球城市規劃師、建築師及設計師等專業團隊,為中環核心商業區由畢打街至西港城,長達1.4公里的德輔道中活化及重新塑造,設計成具標誌性的世界級公共空間。了解更多://walkdvrc.hk/design-competition/

你可以先從改變你的出行方式開始,將步行融入你的日常生活當中。

  • 比平常多走幾步,例如:提早一站下車,走路到目的地
  • 進行日常活動時,比平時走得更遠
  • 步行到會議地點,而非乘坐公共交通工具或駕車
  • 舉行步行會議 –有效率、激發創意,比留在會議室頭腦更清晰

「行德」不時招募實習生及活動義工,另外,你更可以參與我們的市場研究提出寶貴意見。