A Walkable CBD

The premier business district is facing major challenges with traffic congestion, air and noise pollution, inadequate pedestrian facilities and amenities, and dilapidated urban environments. This has significant impact on the viability and vitality of the CBD, the core of the Central Business District 1 (CBD 1) highlighted in the HK2030+ consultation document released in 2016. The government should accelerate its efforts in improving the walkability in Central to reinforce Hong Kong’s status as a global financial and business hub and to foster Hong Kong’s status as “Asia’s World City”. This is especially important as Central has not received any major investment in the past 20 years to upgrade the physical environment and the public facilities.

Streetscape Improvements
Streetscape improvements, such as paving improvements, street furniture reconfigurations and signalised crossings, are often low-impact projects that can make a massive difference to the comfort level of pedestrians. They are particularly important in our CBD to encourage people to work, live, learn, socialise and explore the extraordinary heritage and culture hidden in the busy roads.

 

 
Rendering Photo of Improved Road Paving

 A more people-first street design enhances the attractiveness and safety of an area. This, in turn, increases the vitality and viability of a space by creating “complete streets” which encourage people to walk, stroll, rest, socialise and interact with each other, thus improving the socio-economic and wellbeing of a community.

Discovering Neighbourhoods
People seek out fascinating places to visit when they are travelling. Interesting neighbourhoods do not have to be flashy or full of branded shops. They are often small, attractive and authentic districts that locals and tourists visit to get a sense of local culture.

Walk DVRC Ltd is keen to improve the walkability of the CBD to encourage everyone to discover the captivating historical and cultural heritage of Central and Sheung Wan. Video was produced and collected the stories and thoughts of Chinese entrepreneurs and shopkeepers along and around Des Voeux Road Central (DVRC). Through photographs and interviews, Walk DVRC Ltd. wants to showcase the vibrant culture of the street to highlight how this rich history should be preserved and celebrated. Know more: http://www.walkdvrc.hk/en/news/stories-from-the-street-a-book-by-dvrc-ltd

Pedestrianisation and Placemaking Projects
Cities such as London, Los Angeles, Vancouver and Paris hold planned Car-Free Sundays to encourage people to creatively use the road as a public space for family-friendly activities. Los Angeles and Singapore even have “Great Street” and “The Streets for People” programmes which provide government support for community-initiative projects that create vibrant car-free zones and transform streets into meaningful public spaces!

Walk DVRC has proposed The Sheung Wan Fiesta as a perfect place to begin a placemaking and pedestrianization projects. This project will close a two-block stretch of DVRC, from Western Market to Hillier Street, to vehicular traffic for 90 days.

好行商業區

交通擠塞、空氣及噪音污染、行人設施不足,城市環境不堪入目,都是香港核心商業區現時所面對的重大挑戰。在2016年公佈的《HK2030 +》諮詢文件內曾提及,上述種種問題影響商業核心區1(CBD 1)的活力形象。過去二十年,中環都未有改善區內環境及翻新公共設施。如要保持香港作為環球金融商業樞紐及「亞洲國際都會」的地位,政府需加緊腳步提升中環區的可步行性。

改善街景
其實只要進行一些簡單的工程,就能為改善行人環境帶來很大的效益。包括重鋪行人路、重整街道設施、增設紅綠燈過馬路設施。舒服及好行的行人路鼓勵大眾步行至工作地點、學校,甚至可以透過步行探索區內被埋藏的歷史建築和文化。

 

 
行人路重鋪後的概念圖

 一個以人為先的道路設計能提升該區的吸引力和安全性,而且活化區內空間能使街道變得更有活力、更完整。從而鼓勵並推廣步行、促進人與人之間的互動,改善公共衛生和社會經濟。

D發掘社區故事
我們旅行時會發掘當地有趣、具當地特色的景點。有趣又吸引的景點不是那些倒模式的連鎖店、購物中心,往往充滿本土特色的小社區更值得遊客遊覽,感受當地的風土人情。

「行德」致力推廣好行的商業區,藉以鼓勵大眾利用步行探索附近具歷史及文化特色的地方。我們製作了影片,收集及分享德輔道中上的人物故事。通過照片及訪問片段,呈現這段道路上悠久且深厚的文化及歷史。了解更多:http://www.walkdvrc.hk/tc/news/stories-from-the-street-a-book-by-dvrc-ltd

行人專用區及地方營造計劃
世界其他國家城市,例如英國倫敦、美國洛杉機,加拿大溫哥華和法國巴黎等,都舉辦過無車星期天的活動。目的是鼓勵市民,思考道路除了行車以外的可能性,活用行車路。洛杉機和新加坡同樣舉辦過《Great Street》 和 《The Street for People》,計劃將道路變為無車公共空間,提供地方給社區組織進行不同的活動。而這些活動得到當地政府大力推廣和支持。

《上環樂》正是「行德」在香港推行的計劃。將德輔道中由摩利臣街至禧利街路段禁止車輛行駛,於90日內實行行人優先道路。